Become a member

Get the best offers and updates relating to Liberty Case News.

― Advertisement ―


Dzień Martina Luthera Kinga Jr.: A Tribute

Every year, the third Monday of January is marked by a profound celebration of the life and legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.,...
HomeNewsAll You Need to Know About the Hobart Hurricanes Cricket Team

All You Need to Know About the Hobart Hurricanes Cricket Team

As an avid cricket fan, keeping up with the major teams and latest news about the sport is essential. If you’re interested in learning more about one of Australia’s premier domestic T20 cricket clubs, the Hobart Hurricanes, you’ve come to the right place. Based in Tasmania, the Hurricanes were founded in 2011 and have since become a formidable team in the Big Bash League. Led by captain Matthew Wade and coach Adam Griffith, the Hurricanes are known for their aggressive batting style and crafty bowling attack. Over the years, the team has featured some of the biggest names in Australian cricket like George Bailey, Shaun Tait, and D’Arcy Short.

History and Origins of the Hobart Hurricanes Cricket Team

The Hobart Hurricanes are one of eight teams in Australians domestic T20 cricket competition, the Big Bash League (BBL). The Hurricanes represent Tasmania and are based out of Hobart, the state capital.


The BBL launched in 2011, and the Hobart Hurricanes were one of the original eight franchises. The Hurricanes finished fifth in the inaugural BBL season. Their first finals appearance came in BBL|03, where they lost in the semi-finals. The Hurricanes made their first BBL final in BBL|06 but fell short against the Perth Scorchers.

Home Ground

The Hurricanes play their home matches at Blundstone Arena (Bellerive Oval) in Hobart. The stadium has a capacity of over 20,000 spectators and is regarded as one of the most picturesque cricket venues.


The Hurricanes have had many star players over the years, including George Bailey, Kumar Sangakkara, Shaun Tait, and Jofra Archer. Their current squad includes captain Matthew Wade, England all-rounder Harry Brook, and fast bowlers Riley Meredith and Nathan Ellis.

With a mix of experienced campaigners and exciting young talent, the Hobart Hurricanes are always competitive in the BBL and contenders for the title. Their attacking brand of cricket and the stunning backdrop of Blundstone Arena combine to make Hurricanes matches a highlight of the Australian summer.

Key Players on the Hobart Hurricanes Roster

To be competitive, the Hobart Hurricanes rely on key players to strengthen their roster. Some of the team’s most valuable athletes are:

D’Arcy Short

The Hurricanes star batsman, D’Arcy Short, is renowned for scoring quick runs. In BBL|08, he was named Player of the Tournament after scoring 637 runs at 53.08. His left-arm orthodox spin also provides extra bowling depth.

Matthew Wade

As captain and wicketkeeper-batsman, Matthew Wade brings leadership and experience. He has played over 200 domestic T20s and represented Australia. Wade opens the batting and looks to get the Hurricanes off to a fast start with aggressive strokeplay.

James Faulkner

An experienced all-rounder, James Faulkner adds balance to the team. His left-arm fast-medium bowling has taken over 100 BBL wickets, while his hard-hitting batting provides late over acceleration. Faulkner’s variations and death bowling make him difficult to score off during the closing overs of an innings.

Riley Meredith

A talented young quick, Riley Meredith can bowl over 145km/h and swing the ball at high pace. His raw speed and bouncers apply pressure to opposing batsmen, especially in the powerplay overs. If Meredith stays fit, his express pace could gain the attention of national selectors.

With these standout players in their ranks, the Hobart Hurricanes have the talent to match any team in the competition. By relying on their depth and teamwork, they aim to lift the BBL trophy.

Hobart Hurricanes’ Performance and Records Over the Years

The Hobart Hurricanes have had a mixed performance in the Big Bash League (BBL) over the years. Since the inaugural BBL season in 2011, the Hurricanes have reached the finals three times but are yet to lift the trophy.

2011-2014: Slow Start

In the initial seasons, the Hurricanes struggled to make an impact. They finished fifth in 2011-12, sixth in 2012-13 and 2013-14. The side boasted some notable players like Travis Birt, Owais Shah, and Ben Hilfenhaus but failed to click as a unit.

2015-2017: Steady Improvement

From the 2015-16 season, the Hurricanes’ performance graph took an upward trajectory. They reached the semi-finals in 2015-16 and the finals in 2016-17, finishing third on both occasions. The team benefited from astute purchases of George Bailey, Kumar Sangakkara, and Jofra Archer during these seasons.

2018-Present: Perennial Contenders

Over the last few seasons, the Hurricanes have established themselves as serious contenders. They were the runners-up in 2018-19 and semi-finalists in 2019-20. Players like Matthew Wade, D’Arcy Short, and James Faulkner have contributed significantly to the team’s success.

Though the Hurricanes are yet to win the title, their steady improvement over the years indicates their first BBL trophy may not be too far away. With a well-balanced squad and experienced players in their ranks, the men from Hobart will continue to challenge strongly in the upcoming BBL seasons. Overall, the Hurricanes performance and records demonstrate their emergence as a competitive franchise in the BBL.


As you can see, the Hobart Hurricanes are an exciting cricket team with a rich history of success and dedicated fans. While they have yet to win their first Big Bash League championship, the Hurricanes have built a squad with talent, passion, and the potential to go all the way. With the Big Bash League season getting underway, now is the perfect time to pick your team and get behind the boys from Hobart. They have the bats, the bowls, the fielding, and especially the heart to make this their year. The Hurricanes are poised to blow into the finals and possibly hoist the trophy.